Come Home, My Lord

The enemies
who vacated my heart
are lurking in the shadows
from the door left ajar.

O Supreme Enjoyer
when will you come
to grace the seat of my soul?
To protect me from the army
of anger, greed, and envy.

My feeble attempts
could only push them out
to the doorsill.
I hear the whispers of enemies–
their footsteps i hear.
louder and louder–
the walls of
my consciousness reverberate
the fear.

It must be my complacency
and forgetfulness of You–
the strongest weakness
that empowers even a lame foe.

Come home, my Lord.
Forgive my misgivings.
The sound of Your flute
will purify every inch
of the expanse of my being.
Come in to my heart, Your home.

Leave a Reply

