12.2 The Infinity of You in the Finiteness of My Words …

śrī-bhagavān uvāca
mayy āveśya mano ye māṁ
nitya-yuktā upāsate
śraddhayā parayopetās
te me yukta-tamā matāḥ

The Supreme Personality of Godhead said: Those who fix their minds on My personal form and are always engaged in worshiping Me with great and transcendental faith are considered by Me to be most perfect.  Bhagavad Gita, chapter 12, verse 2

“The form is finite.” retorted my friend. “For you it’s Krishna, and for me, the universe. We have been calling the same thing by different names.”

“Are you saying that the creator and the creation are the same? Isn’t the creator larger than the creation? Afterall, He creates many universes like the one whose we are a tiny part of.”, I wanted her to think deeply the way Srila Prabhupada made me think through His books.

“From infinite comes the finite. Krishna is a child of the infinite.” She announced.

“Where have you got this information from?”, I asked.

“That’s how I see it with my intelligence, and that’s what the scientists deduce too.” My friend said to me.

“Well, a few decades ago, the scientists also said that human brain is imperfect. How can an imperfect organ determine finite from infinite? The journey of the scientists is surely infinite. Every few decades a replacement of an old theory comes, rendering the old one incomplete or completely false.” I remembered how another friend and I used to argue over science versus spirituality.

“When He created this universe, He gave us the manuals that guide us to lead a spiritually fulfilling human experience.  These scriptures are the bonafide source of all that we need to know.” In the Bhagavad Gita, which contains not only the gist of these scriptures but also the knowledge that we need for the culmination of existence, Krishna says in the verse 7.7 that there is no Truth superior to Him and that everything rests upon Him, as pearls are strung on a thread.” I summarized from my memory what I have learned from my teachers.

“He has a form, doesn’t He? How can He be infinite enough to create universes? If I believe what you are saying, tell me how a being that creates practically immeasurable universes is small enough to enter it?”, she said.

“We have made skyscrapers, haven’t we? Krishna is the ultimate giver of siddhis such as mahima (ability to become infinitely heavy) and laghima (ability to become infinitely light). He can become larger than the largest and smaller than the smallest.” I remember the names of only these two siddhis out of the whole list.

“His form is not a form of the matter, and therefore, He is eternally and infinitely beautiful and immortal.” She would love the description of Krishna which Brahma describes in Bramha Samhita, I thought to myself.

“So, fixing our mind and senses upon Him makes us perfect. That’s what He seems to be saying in this verse.” , she seemed to have picked up the point. That’s how we all begin our journey.

“Krishna says out of the yogis the best are those whose object of contemplation, meditation, service, and love is He, the supreme person, the highest manifestation of the Absolute Truth.” I said.

“Just think about it, can you love someone or something formless? Are we not attracted to beautiful forms all the time? My dear, you have been doing power yoga to shed weight so you look even better.” I remembered my own temporary obsession with formless in late 2000 and how Krishna brought me out of it.

“So, attraction to Krishna’s personal form is no different from our attraction to the forms of this world, isn’t it?”, my friend asked and in a way answered to herself.s

“Krishna is All-Attractive. In this world we may be beautiful outside but within the scars of jealously and greed make us ugly. With Krishna, inside and outside are no different. What You See Is What You Get, so to say. The scriptures say He is Absolute, and one part of His body can do what all other parts can do. He can eat with His eyes or nose and speak with His hands. The bhoga we offer to Krishna, sometimes He accepts through His nose, and sometimes through His mouth. You must have heard His childhood leela (pastime) when He showed the entire creation in His small little mouth to Mother Yashoda. Have you?”, I said, but my teacher would have explained it better!

“Yes, I have. But, I have never thought of Absolute in this way at all. Never!”, my friend spoke wondered.

“Fix your eyes on His form, and your eyes will be purified, use your senses to do things He likes us to do, and your senses will be purified. He is the supreme purifier and the master of the senses (Hrishikesa means the lord of the senses.), too. The more we are occupied with Him, the less occupied we become with this world.”, I repeated in my own words what I have learned from the teachers.

“Hmm, so purification means becoming detached from this world. Is that what you are saying?”, she spoke like a Buddhist.

“Becoming attached to Him means becoming detached from this world, without misusing or losing the ability to love and so the experience of it. The detachment from this world without any higher engagement makes our hearts dry and insensitive. Attachment to Krishna makes us compassionate because everything is a manifestation of Krishna. Do you remember I visited Mayapur last year? I told you about my trip, didn’t I? The Mayapur temple has a lawn with a placard “Please don’t pluck Krishna’s flowers.” What an awakening experience it was that Krishna has created these flowers!” I mean I knew it theoretically even before reading the placard, but the realization that dawned upon me in that moment evoked a feeling of loving responsibility. Compare this with a bland message “Plucking flowers is prohibited.” How dry, isn’t it?” I said in a few breaths.

“What you just said about plucking flowers brings me back to the conversational writing style presentation we attended recently. And you know what; even the whole idea of conversational writing is so personal. It’s personalism!”

“Yes, it is. We are persons so personalism comes naturally to us. Sadly, the world has been suffering from the plague of impersonalism and voidism. Krishna wants us to rid us of this disease through His song, the Bhagavad Gita.

Leave a Reply

